Illustrator crush

Everybody who knows me or who has read my blog for awhile will know that I am a big lover of illustration. I guess you could say it’s my one of my passions. I can draw not a whit myself but I am most certainly drawn to the drawings of others.

Last week I tried very hard to explain to someone what kind of illustrations I like. And I couldn’t really articulate it. Not exactly. I guess that’s what often happens with art doesn’t it? You can’t always put your finger on what it is that attracts you to a particular piece. It’s just something that you feel.

The illustrations I have in my house are mostly of the whimsical variety. But they’re all very different kinds of whimsy.

And then there’s Becca Stadtlander who I have just recently discovered and whose work I  have a big crush on. To me, the scenes she draws are simple, serene and somewhat subdued. They speak to where I’m at right now.

But which of her beautiful pieces should I purchase? Which?

I think I’m most drawn to the light house. Partly because it has stripes but also because I’ve always liked the idea of living in a light house. Something about the solitude that a light house keeper would experience there appeals to me.

I shall think on which to buy. In the meantime, if you’re interested, you can see Becca’s lovely work here.

2 thoughts on “Illustrator crush

Leave a Reply

