Stop! Smoothie time!

I feel so uncool right now. I’m the only person in the world who doesn’t seem to be drinking green smoothies each morning. I haven’t even managed to find kale to buy. But tomorrow I’m going to go to Mel’s green grocer and secure myself a few bunches.

For breakfast this morning though, my honey and I had this smoothie and I thought I’d share the recipie in case anyone else wants to drink something other than greens in the morning.

Ingredients: 
1) Milk & plain Greek yoghurt – the portions of each depend on how thick or smooth you  like your morning drink to be. I don’t add too much yoghurt because E doesn’t like the sourness of the plain, Greek style.

2) Three frozen banananas – its all about the cold bananas I tell you. A smoothie with room temperature bananas never tastes as good. Buy a few and when they start going brown, chuck them in the fridge or freezer.

3) Mixed berries, fresh or frozen

4) Fresh passionfruit (or canned, when out of season)

Method:
Whack it all in a blender and blend, blend, blend.

Breakfast in less than five minutes!

7 thoughts on “Stop! Smoothie time!

  1. Ooh it looks so pretty with all the colored speckles! Try looking for cavalo nero (I believe it is the same as kale, just different name). I freeze my narnies ALL the time (after years of dead bananas sitting in my fruit bowl, I finally got the message that I needed action!)! But I peel them and chuck em in a ziplock bag first. X

  2. Looks good. I have been making them for my daughter because she has had a sudden bout of pickyness. She’s been digging the smoothies though. I am for sure going to try the frozen banana trick.

  3. Looks good. I remember when smoothies became all the rage when I was in college (the first time) in the early 90s. Anti-depressants also were all the rage at the time–I guess they still are–and there were a lot of jokes about Prozac smoothies.

  4. Heehee yum! Jay +I had one with bananas, pear and natural yoghurt yesterday because we ran out of kale. I bought 3 bunches of kale and some cavolo nero from the fruit&veg store today so hopefully they still have some for you.. Actually, I they’re not open Sundays.

  5. Oh and Sheels, and cavolo nero is slightly different. The leaves look different, but they’re kinda sleeker if that makes sense. They taste similar though.

  6. I dunno how I feel about a liquid breakfast…think I’ve been traumatised as a kid. Each time I slept over at a friends place her mum would make us drink gross weetbixy honey banana smoothies for breakfast. This looks uber yum though. Going to try.

    You can find kale at the grocer near Coles in Parramatta. They have everything I tells ya!

Leave a Reply

