On a flowery note

I thought about flowers a lot this week, being Valentines and all. I think perhaps one of the reasons I am not much of VD fan is because I don’t like roses all that much (except for David Austin roses). And I especially don’t like red roses.

I’m more of dahlia girl myself. They’re so soft and fragile, yet have pointy looking petals, some that stand tall and proud and some that droop down in the most sweet manner.

I also love me some ranunculus. Such bright and cheerful little flowers aren’t they? And I love how ruffled they look.

Then of course there are peonies. To me they are the dreamiest of flowers. The petals are so pillowy that if I were a fairy, I’d be sure to climb inside one for slumber.

My other favourites are (below, from left to right) cherry blossom, poppies and those other little inside out daisy things. Does anyone know what they’re called?

I also love frangipanis and have been very happy to have my own plants bloom this week. The poor flowers have probably been confused about the weather but seem to have decided to give up on summer and just show their face. As soon as I saw buds appear I started watering the roots with worm juice. And I gave my worms very strict instructions to get cranking on making some more so I can have happy, healthy, frangipanis for the rest of these summer days.

What are your favourite buds? And are there any flowers you don’t care much for? As well as roses, I’m also not terribly fond of sunflowers or gerbera.

Photo credits:
1
2
3
4
5 & 6
7, 8,9  (from one of my favourite blogs – Annie’s photography is amazing!)
4 thoughts on “On a flowery note

  1. I like those yellow balls too! After some research I think you will find their common name is Billy balls. So quirky aren’t they?! And my long-time love has been ranunculi, ever since I planted their bulbs with my mum over 20 years ago! So exciting watching them sprout and bloom :) I love orange blossoms, sweet peas and some of the blossoms that are on gum trees (but I don’t know which specific eucalypt). I don’t love oriental lilies. But I do love all your descriptions! Were I to live in a flower it would probably be a sweetpea so I could swing from it’s curly tendrils!

    1. What did you google to find out they were Billy balls? I tried ‘inside out daisies’ and ‘flowers that look like they are a penis’…but nothing came up.

      I think maybe it was you who put me on to ranunculi actually! And I’ve just realised my error in pluralising :)

      I agree, oriental lilies aren’t so wonderful.

      I want to swing on a sweet pea too! What fun!

      1. Lol! I get confused with plurals! I just wrote the first word that came to my head :) I googled “yellow ball flower!” What on earth came up with your second google?! I’m a bit concerned :p I used to despise those lilies because I would get that orange stamen powder all over my uniform when I was cleaning rooms at the hospital! I think some florists have the sense to remove it prior to sale. Now I just think there are so many other beautiful and unique flowers out there, I don’t have time for orientals!

  2. Yeah that’s why I don’t like them too, all that stamen powder, I’ve ruined clothing from that stuff and I also stained my old work desk too.

    And you know what other flower I’m a bit hit and miss with – tulips. I think they look pretty but they droop so easily.

    My google search was fruitless :) It brought up a whole bunch of interesting looking clouds and also yogic poses!

Leave a Reply

