Defrosted at last

I spent the weekend at my parent’s place and golly gee but it’s freezing in their neck of the woods! Not only is the temperature lower than in Sydney but their house is far too big and really badly insulated.

I woke up at the crack of  yesterday’s dawn, feeling chilled to the bone and I couldn’t seem to get warm for the rest of the day. I went for a walk, I read in the sun, I sat in front of the fire with a blanket on my lap but all to no avail. I was icy cold and seemed set to stay that way.

When my Grandfather offered me a copy of the Coles Winter Magazine that included recipes for five fast soups, I became totally fixated with the idea of slowly sipping a cup of some kind of broth, sure that it would be what finally thawed me out.

I wasn’t able to make it until tonight, but this chicken and corn soup is possibly the easiest thing I’ve ever cooked. I’m not sure if you could even call it cooking actually.

Even though I don’t really like chicken that much and even though I dont’ really like creamed corn, it was warm, filling and has defrosted me at last.

Chicken and corn soup
Serves 4
Preparation – 10 minutes
Cooking – 10 minutes

1 tbsp vegetable oil
4 spring onions, sliced
3 cups of chicken stock
2 x 310g cans of creamed corn
420g can of corn kernels, drained
2 chicken breast fillets

Method:
1)  Heat oil in a large saucepan. Add green onions and cook over medium – low heat for 2-3 minutes, or until just soft. Add stock, creamed corn and corn kernels. Bring to a simmer.

2) Cut chicken fillets in half lengthways and finely slice crossways. Add to the pan and cook for 3 minutes or until tender.

4 thoughts on “Defrosted at last

  1. Yum! Definitely looks warming..and a day in the Sun is always lovely!
    I am making use of the slow cooker; Italian style osso bucco with mushrooms last night. Got home and the timer had set and house smelt divine! Its the upside to cold weather :D

  2. Love a good chicken and corn soup! I always forget about it though as a dinner option until I see a pic such as yours. Looking forward to Darbar tonight! V enjoying the blog too:)

Leave a Reply

