List two: Favourite childhood movies

What were your favourite movies when you were little? Here are mine:

  • The new adventures of Pippi Longstocking
    This is not only my favourite childhood movie, but it’s my favourite movie of all time. I think that Roz, Leigh and I could probably recite every word of this film from start to finish. I sing the songs so often that even Ian knows them well enough to join in. Pippi’s full name is Pippilotta Delicatessant Windowshade Longstocking. She’s unconventional, assertive, and has superhuman strength. Plus her hair rocks.  My hero!

  • The Huggabunch
    I recently re-watched this on the tube of You and even all these years later I still think it’s cute. There’s one part of this film that’s a bit scary. My cousin Hayley told me a few months ago that she used to have really bad nightmares as a kid because Leigh and I apparently forced her to watch this movie so many times!I found this notebook in Borders the other day that reminds me of one of the main characters, Huggins. She has a whole lot of savoir fare!

 

  • Pollyanna
    I love all the glass prisms in this movie and the amazing cakes at the fair! I also really love ‘The Glad Game’ and I pretty much play it every time I feel sad about something. If we all had sunny dispositions like Pollyanna the world would be a much better place.

  •  Parent Trap 1, 2, 3 & Parent Trap Hawaiian Honeymoon
    Hailey Mills is my Dad’s favourite actress so he was big on us watching these (and Pollyanna). I dislike the new version immensely but it does have a rocking soundtrack.

    

  • Mary Poppins, Sound of Music, The Wizard of Oz, Annie, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang Bang, Bedknobs and Broomsticks
    I’m a musical lover. Always have been. I’d watch these 6 movies over and over when I was a kid. If only they still made ’em like this. Disney cartoons have nothing over real musicals.As an aside, I find it amusing that Ian thinks Mary Poppins is depressing. He won’t rewatch it because he feels too sorry for Bert. He didn’t score Mary in the end and E thinks this is far too sad.

 

  • You ruined my life
    A kid who lives in a hotel and doesn’t have to go to school. She had the best toys ever and I wanted her life. And Leigh – just for you, I’ll say “Prusssia, Russia, MUSHA”.

As a side note – my two LEAST favourite movies from my childhood are Babes in Toyland and Swiss Family Robinson. They were Leigh’s favourite and we watched them over and over and over again. I don’t think I liked either of them the first time, let alone the 10th, 50th or 100th time.

Repetition was obviously our thing though. Once we were a bit older, the movies we got out every single holidays changed to:

  • Grease 1 & 2
    We didn’t understand what we were singing along too. I’ve since watched Grease 2 and it’s really quite rude! I can’t believe our parents let us watch it!

 

  • Splash and Splash too with Tom Hanks, Daryl Hannah and John Candy

 

  • Manequin 1 & 2 with Kim Catrall

 

  • Money Mania (which apparently in the US was called Million $ Mystery)
  • Drop dead Fred

  • Beetlejuice
    We loved Tim Burton at an early age – but seriously, how could our parents let us watch something so dark? I would never let my little girls see this movie!

Awww…now I feel all nostalgic. I think I need to go and see whether these old school films are available on dvd.

{All images from IMD and binbin.net}

7 thoughts on “List two: Favourite childhood movies

  1. These were all our favourites too I believe!!!! Love it! Bedknobs and broomsticks was a particular favourite of mine! I think I watched the cartoon scene about 20 times :)

    Love a good list!

  2. Argh can’t believe I forgot Chitty Chitty Bang Bang! What a great movie. And Pollyanna, Annie…some great memories. I think we would have loved hanging out as kids!

Leave a Reply

